To Post Graduate & Research Centre Examination Cell



"Dakshina Bharat Hindi Prachar Sabha" was established in the year 1918 by our beloved Father of the Nation Mahatma Gandhi with the sole aim of propagating Hindi in southern states. The first Pracharak was none other than Devadoss Gandhi son of Mahatma Gandhi.

"Hindi Prachar" was a movement that emerged as part of Freedom Movement and the leaders who led the nation to "FREE INDIA" felt the necessity of making a single Indian Language the National Language, and through that language unify the people and thereby intensify National Integration.

1927 saw the emergence of Dakshina Bharat Hindi Prachar Sabha as an independent organisation and Mahatma Gandhi was its President till he breathed his last.

In India, Institutions of Higher learning have been classified as under:

 1. Those established by Acts of Parliament and classified as Central Universities.

 2. Those established by Acts of State Legislatures. eg. Madras University, Madurai Kamarajar University.

 3. Those declared as Deemed Universities under Section 3 of U.G.C. Act.

      eg. Bharathi Vidya Peeth, Pune,Birla Institute of Tech. & Science, Pilani.

 4. Those declared as Institutions of National Importance and established by Acts of Parliament and have the right of awarding degrees as said in section 22(1) of the U.G.C. Act

        e.g Dakshina Hindi Prachar Sabha,Madras

  6 Indian Institutes of Technology (I.I.T.). There are in all 12 Institutions under this category and Dakshin Bharat Hindi Prachar Sabha, Madras is one of them.